Go Back   AAPC Forum > Medical Coding > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-01-2010, 09:33 AM
New

ivyrose is on a distinguished road
Unhappy CPC exam - I failed....

I took my CPC exam & failed.......the entire test was mostly on CPT & ICD9 codes. There was hardly anything else on the exam that I studied hard for............. my score was 55% only as I had to answer about 10-15 questions by just marking any answer as time ran out. I am so upset.....
Old 12-01-2010, 10:08 AM
Networker

medcoder9 is on a distinguished road

What did you study hard for? I am taking mine in 17 days and I am scared. The sample test I took is hard. I also ran out of time and I failed. So Im really REALLLY nervous.
Old 12-01-2010, 10:19 AM
New

Red face CPC exam

I studied terminology, anatomy, medicare, etc., and there was not that many questions about these topics. Basically everything was CPT/ICD9 codes with senarios. Time is a REAL issue and thats where I faultered....I had to anwser at least 10 or more questions just by filling in the blank.
Old 12-01-2010, 11:28 AM
Networker

asasands is on a distinguished road

I just took my test and passed. I would really look at the radiology and pathology questions. Those are the only ones that I felt were difficult. Most of the questions are coding and the few that out just guess by process of elimination. The best thing to do is if you have questions with both CPT and ICD-9 codes eliminate the questions with the ICD-9 codes. The test I took all man of the icd-9 codes were wrong and it was easy to eliminate without know what the CPT code was.

Good Luck
Old 12-01-2010, 11:35 AM
Guru

AmandaW is on a distinguished road

And remember to use process of elimination next go around. DON'T try to code...I know that sounds crazy but just look up the codes they give you and rule them out one by one and know the fundamentals of coding and you'll do good!!

Amanda, CPC
Hospitalist E/M