Wiki EMR and flu shots

Lisa Bledsoe

True Blue
Best answers
I'm wondering if anyone else is having this issue, or if it is even an issue. If patients come in for flu shot clinics, the immunization itself is not being abstracted into the immunization record in EMR; it is simply scanned in to another location within that EMR but it's hard to find. Likewise H1N1. Is it ok to just scan this info in and not apply it to the patient's immunization record? If there was an outside audit for these immunizations, it could be very tricky for the auditor to find the documentation. I need some opinions and help please.

Hi Lisa,

We sometimes had this situation at a previous employer. If the documentation is available, tricky or not, it is in the patient's chart. As coders we really wanted the information in the visit note, however it didn't always make it to there.

Thanks Cyndi...I agree, as a coder I want it where it can be easily located. I don't want to have to search for it and I don't believe an outside auditor will either (auditors are usually coders first...). Guess I'll let this one slide and hope if it comes up in an outside audit that I will be allowed to help locate it. :eek:

EMR & Flu Shots

Hi Lisa,