Wiki 25 modifier - new to ophthalmolgy

ktrek32

New
Best answers
I am new to ophthalmolgy and the person that trained me I am thinking was not all correct on all the OV 99212-99214 there is a 25 modifier and on all the diagnostic tests for example 92250 or 92134 or 92133 or VF 92083 all have a 59 modifier on them. does the 25 modifier need to be used and does the 59 modifier need to be used. thanks for any help that I can get

25 modifier

The -25 modifier should suffice. Make sure there is documentation for the E/M visit as well as the procedure. You can always use the NCCI tool from Medicare to confirm.

The 25 modifier is used to show a separately, identifiable visit so it wouldn't be appropriate to use for every office visit in which you also do a test. We use the 25 mod if for example, when a patient comes in for an office visit and glaucoma testing and the patient has a foreign body in the cornea. So we do:

Office visit with 25 mod with glaucoma ICD9 codes (reason for patient's visit)
Glaucoma testing CPT with glauc dx codes
FB removal CPT with FB dx code

We typically don't use a 59 on the testing, but we have found some payers require 51 mod if we do multiple tests.

thank you so much for your help that was the way I thought the billing was supose to be done but the person that trained me does not think that is the way so she keeps changing my billing so now I have others who think correct coding is the same way as I do so that will help, just because an insurance pays does not mean that it is correct and that is what I am trying to show her

Typically if it is testing you don't need a -25 on the office visit. Only if a procedure has been done would the office visit need to be identified as separate.

I am having a similar issue and am new to ophthalmology coding. The denial that I am getting is when billing 99214, 92083, and 92133 altogether. the 92133 had a 59 and medicare is still denying. Do I need a 25 with the 99214