Wiki 36246 or 36247 and 75774?

aunderhill

Networker
Best answers
Hello everyone, I need some help abstracting this op report. I am new to peripheral coding and am struggling. Any help is appreciated. Thank you

The codes I have come up with are:

36246 or 36247 – the reason I debate this is that I think only the wire went into the right superficial femoral artery and not the cath.

75774,26 tibioperoneal / foot – If this is correct, why is this not part of the lower extremity code. Does lower extremity not run the whole length of the limb?

99152 – do we get credit even though we called in anesthesiologist after, due to patient inability to stay still.

PROCEDURES PERFORMED:
1. Ultrasound-guided access to the left common femoral artery
2. Aortoiliac angiography
3. Bilateral selective lower extremity angiography
4. Deployment of a 6 French Perclose hemostatic closure device through the left common femoral artery.
SEDATION: Conscious sedation was provided by a trained nurse with intravenous boluses of fentanyl and Versed for a total of 45 minutes.
General anesthesia was needed because of inability to stay still for angiography. Therefore we called anesthesiologist on-call and general anesthesia was provided by Dr. Chu thereafter to perform the lower extremity angiogram

CLINICAL HISTORY:

61 year old man with history of hypertension, hepatitis C, ESRD, aortic stenosis, peripheral arterial disease, TIA and AF. He has bilateral lower extremity critical limb ischemia on the right foot with necrotic digits and bilateral nonhealing heel ulcers. He was referred for bilateral lower extremity angiography and possible intervention to improve the chance of healing and allow for transmetatarsal amputation of the right foot and eventually aortic valve replacement after lower extremity necrotic and infected tissue is removed.