Wiki Appending Modifier 22 to 92310 / Contact Lens Fittings

Best answers
I'm currently studying for CPC certification and I recently started working for an optometrist. Today, we went over commonly used CPT codes for patient billing and claim filing.

In an effort to apply my knowledge/training to my work, I am trying to understand definitions/rationales for the codes I was given. When I got home, I cross-referenced everything with the 2019 CPT codebook.

The codes I was given for contact lens fittings are as follows:

- 92310 for single vision fitting
- 92310-21 for toric fitting
- 92310-22 for multifocal fitting

The first thing that confused me was the use of modifier 21. I couldn't find it in Appendix A of the CPT and after a little bit of digging (by which I mean Googling), I found that modifier 21 was deleted and obsolete as of 2009. I was able to find the definition for the now defunct modifier 21 (Prolonged E/M Services). My next thought was that modifier 22 would be appropriate since it denotes Increased Procedural Services.

In my research, I found nothing supporting the use of modifier 22 to file claims for specialty contact lens fittings. In fact, based on my reading, I'm inclined to believe that 92310 would cover all fittings that would not meet the definitions of 92311-92317.

I do know that our practice charges higher rates for fitting toric and multifocal contact lenses, which would make the use of modifier 22 logically sound for someone who isn't a coder. (Additionally, nobody in our office is trained or certified specifically for coding. Almost all of the codes are given by the doctor.) When I do start filing claims, I want to make sure I'm coding accurately (and bring attention to potentially erroneous coding practices).

So to summarize my inquiry, should specialty contact lens fittings be coded differently than single vision? And if so, should I be using modifier 22 or something else? Why or why not?