Wiki Billing OP Services IP for 72 Hour Rule

Agilbert3

Networker
Best answers
Hello all,
I am a new coder and trying to find answers for myself and our billing department.

I understand that for Medicare patients who are rendered services such as x-rays and labs in outpatient setting then admitted inpatient within DRG window, that those services are bundled with inpatient services.

Our question is how do we do that? Do I code those services as a charge to the hospital? Or does the biller abstract the information and do it herself (this is our hospital biller, not our clinic biller asking)?

For patients listed as admit, we have been omitting any E/M codes, but still charging the labs and X-rays to our own clinic. My partner coder and I had been thinking they did this on their end, but they don't seem too sure of the proper way either.

Any advice for me and our billing dept? This is not my area of understanding.

I'd have to ask first if you are coding for an independent practice, or for a hospital satellite department. If you are a separate entity from the hospital, you should not have to do anything differently as the 72-hour rule only bundles payments provided by entities that are 'wholly owned or wholly operated' by the hospital to which the patient was admitted. Services provided by outside entities, in most cases, are not part of the DRG payment. If you are not part of the hospital, then you should not code your claims any differently based on the fact that the patient was admitted within 72 hours.