Wiki Colonoscopy Coding Issues

tian17

New
Best answers
I have a question about CPT/DX coding for Colonoscopies - we are having trouble when we are performing a screening colonoscopy and removing polyps then bringing the patient back in 6mths for the repeat colonoscopy. The repeat is being denied due to a second screening too soon. Anyone have suggestions on how to code these? Or get these reimbursed? Guidelines suggest that when the patient has a large polyp or a high-grade neoplasia to bring them back to make sure all was removed, but then it is denied and patients do not want to come back. Looking for guidance. Our coders are billing both as screenings with the findings secondary....(I cannot find anything as a coder myself to disagree with them) but it is not working.

Coding Colonoscopies

Hi

You need a modifier on the CPT when the same doc is doing this colon procedure again in less than a year.Try modifier 76 with gastro CPT and send medical record with claim showing why had to redo it. Please have doc list this in his notations too. Use the proper dx. sequencing , the proper Z dx. codes should come last not first. A definitive dx should come first especially if polyp regrew again. Ensure the gastro CPT codes are not unbundling the CPT manual will tell you that under each CPT code description in which certain CPT codes cannot be billed together. Also check out the Medicare CCI edits for guidance. Also differ areas of colon and differ clinical procedures(hot bx vs cold bx) can be billed in which ways to have removed polyp.

Anyway good luck !

Lady T