Wiki Complex Cataract surgery

CBP2014

Contributor
Best answers
My employer/practice is ophthalmology - we have 3 surgeons out of 5 providers (6th starting in October). They had an outside billing group for many years, but brought back in-house in 2021. The administration has decided on an internal audit of all complex cataract cases for the last 18 months.
Our billing/coding department tis small, I am the only coder with 3 additional billing staff.
I know the guidelines on what qualifies as complex but I am looking for best practices on confirming complex coding is applicable.
Do you rely on physician's operative note as primary source?
Do you review informed consents?
Do you review pre-op visit documentation for planned complex situation?
What is your process?
Thank you in advance.

Hello, I am a medical coder and one of my specialties is Ophthalmology; however, I am still learning and I obtained COPC. We code surgery only from the Op notes! dx, date, signature- all requirements are there. we don't go outside the Op note. The description of the procedure determines whether it was a simple or complex cataract surgery: 66984-simple and 66982-complex. Of course, there are combination codes for cataract Sx and insertion of iStent and cyclophotocoagulation.

Hello CBP2014! It's a pleasure.

Great question! Determining a complex cataract case depends within your contractor. Please reference both these articles & confirm your jurisdiction - again guidelines vary.

I'm in jurisdiction JH. One of the following below is what we consider a cataract case to be complex.
  1. A miotic pupil that will not dilate sufficiently4 requirng the use of a mechanical iris expansion device (Iris retractors through four additional incisions, Beehler expansion device, or Malyugin ring) to adequately visualize the lens in the posterior chamber of the eye.4
  2. Pre-existing zonular weakness requiring use of capsular tension rings or segments or intraocular suturing of the intraocular lens.5