Wiki E&M coding-99214 vs 90807

jcochran

Best answers
Hello, I am very new to the Behavioral Health billing/coding world. I have extensive experience with hospital as well as OBGYN, but the Behavioral Health side of coding and billing is leaving me a little perplexed.

When I arrived, all of our psychiatrists were billing 90862, which I know is not right, considering that some of their visits are 60-75 minutes long and much of the time is spent identifying problems and working on goals.

I am a little confused as far as the proper coding for these visits, and all research I have done is pointing me to either a 99214 or 90807.

Problem is, our doc's do not do height/weight/bp on every visit. So how do I meet the E&M criteria (or get them to) if they do not document the vitals?

Also, as soon as the med check portion of the visit is documented, does that automatically change the visit to an E&M?

Any feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks:)

Last edited:
Here are some documentation guidelines by trailblazer LCDs.

Section I: Psychiatric Diagnostic Interview Examinations (90801, 90802)

The medical records must reflect in legible form the elements outlined in the above description of the services and contain all of the following elements:

•Date.
•Referral source.
•Length of session (these are not timed codes, however, the standard length of time is generally considered to be between 45 minutes and one hour).
•Content of session.
•Therapeutic techniques and approaches, including medications.
•Assessment of the patient's ability to adhere to the treatment plan.
•Identity of person performing service (legible signature).
•For interactive therapy, medical record should indicate the adaptations utilized in the session and the rationale for employing these interactive techniques.
•For services that include an E/M component, the E/M services should be documented.
•Multiaxial diagnoses.
Section II: Psychological and Neuropsychological Testing