Wiki examples of e&m for hema/onc office visits

Stacyharter98

Networker
Best answers
could anyone tell me where I might go to find examples of evaluation and management codes for office visits for hematology/oncology?

Can you be more specific please ? Do you mean examples of when you would bill just an E/M ? Not sure if i could help being that i am new at this but wouldn't hurt to have a look.

My specific question from the physician was the following:

If I see a patient for Acute L L with current chemo treatment what would my level be? level for follow up after 6 months of being off chemo for check? level for acute L L on chemo with issues the day of the visit?

Again i am no oncology coding expert ;) but i would say" level for acute L L on chemo with issues the day of the visit"

It is my understanding that chemo has no global, therefore, if a problem from or related to the treatment arose then you could bill the appropriate E/M level. If the patient is on chemo and coming in for treatment and has a complication then you can bill both with -25.

If a significant separately identifiable evaluation and management service is performed, the
appropriate E & M code should be reported utilizing modifier 25 in addition to the
chemotherapy administration or non-chemotherapy injection and infusion service. For an
evaluation and management service provided on the same day, a different diagnosis is not
required.

http://www.lamedicare.com/provider/medguide/coverage27.pdf

Not really sure if this is what your physician is talking about. Hope this helps or maybe someone else could shed some light !!

what level is my question. like 99213,99214,99215 examples of each of these not necessarily that dx code but some sort of cancer dx

The level will depend on the documention he provides of PE, History MDM etc. I don't have any examples of cancer per say but if you look in back of the CPT book they give you examples of the different levels. Sorry i couldn't be more help.