Facility E/M Straightforward 99281

cfeilner

New
Best answers
Are you able to code for 99281 on the facility side if the patient left after triage? I am unable to locate anything recent guidelines on the CMS website. The latest I was able to find was 2014. I know that commercial plans you can but I need to verify Govt plans and Medicare replacement plans. Thanks!

Last edited:
99281 vs 99211

For Medicare only patient's that come into the ED but leave after triage, can the facility charge the 99211 instead of the 99281?
Thank you in advance for any insight!

I am not an expert on ED billing rules, but per my reading of the Medicare regulations, this would not meet the definition of a Medicare covered service. Per the Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, in order to be covered, outpatient "services and supplies must be furnished as an integral, although incidental, part of the physician or nonphysician practitioner’s professional service in the course of treatment of an illness or injury."