Wiki Finding a job...

sansdust

Contributor
Best answers
Hello!

I am looking for a coding (or billing) position with no sucess at all!!! I just graduated with my medical billing and coding degree in July 2009 and I obtained my CPC-A in Sept. 2009. However, finding a job without any experience is proving to be almost impossible. :(
I graduated with 3.95 GPA and perfect attendance... still no takers job-wise!!! Any suggestions for an abitious CPC???!!! I REA:LLY want to start my new career!! :)

I look forward to any replies...even if it's just to network! :D

Hope you are all well,
Sandy Stephens, CPC-A
in southern California...

Sandy: You might want to contact officers of local AAPC chapters in your area to help you determine if any local offices/hospitals are participating in the Project Extern or if someone may be willing to take you as an "apprentice". Sometimes if you're willing to intern (no pay) that will at least help you land some experience and your first job reference. Good luck.

This I think is quite common my instructor said that not giving up is half the battle, so hang in there. An internship is a good idea, I just passed my CPC-A so thats what I plan to do. My school hasnt been much help with placement, so I plan to go pass out my resume to Office Managers at various offices along with an offer to help out however needed for one month. When the month is offer politely thank them and move on. Hopefully eventually someone will ask me to stay. Good luck I think we both have our work cut out for us\.

In addition to what has been said before: I suggest to my members that do not have experience to apply for medical jobs that don't require coding--receptionist, scheduler, etc. Apply especially at hospitals. This will get something medical on your resume.