Wiki Fracture Care Coding-Could someone help me

Best answers
Could someone help me (I'm new at coding orthopedics)? If a physician sees the patient in the office for a fracture, orders x-rays which confirm the fracture, but does nothing and does not plan to do anything but limit the patient's activity, pain meds, etc; can fracture care be billed in addition to the office E/M code?.

Thanks.

Sorry, I posted this in the wrong forum.

Xrays

Yes. Put whatever level e/m code and add mod 25..if billing medicare put the physican as the refering physican in bx 17 on the hicfa

I believe that if it's the providers intent to manage the patient's fracture, whether a cast is applied or not, fracture care is appropriate. Also, Medicare requires a 57 modifier because the fracture care carries a 90 global, I am not sure about other payers, but I think 57 is more appropriate is you are billing fracture care in addition to an E/M. If the provider doesn't indicate that the patient needs to follow-up, or to just call if the patient has any problems, or just to follow-up prn, then I am not sure that fracture care is appropriate. It all depends on the intent to manage the fracture.

Fracture care : does it necessarily mean there should be a surgery?; I feel it can be any procedural care/service provided in relation to the frature by the physician, is enough to label it as 'Fracture Care'(Ofcourse with certain other criteria to be met). What I am trying to point is the modifier 57 is 'Decision for surgery '. Unless the care lands up for surgery how would we append this 57 modifier.
This out of ignorance I am asking.