Wiki General Question

Best answers
I just have a general question. When you're coding and say the provider coded unspecified knee pain but the note clearly says right knee pain. So instead of me removing the unspecified code and adding the M25.561, our providers have told us we have to ask them if they will allow us to change a code. We cannot even remove a code from a claim without asking even though there's no documentation/treatment/assessment of any kind on the note. I was just working on a claim where the patient was here for her annual physical. It clearly says in her note that she has a personal history of cervical cancer but the code was not added nor put in the patients problem list. As a coder, I thought we were able to add those codes? Isn't that the reason we got certified? Please correct me if I'm wrong. I feel as if our providers doesn't trust us to choose the correct codes.

I just have a general question. When you're coding and say the provider coded unspecified knee pain but the note clearly says right knee pain. So instead of me removing the unspecified code and adding the M25.561, our providers have told us we have to ask them if they will allow us to change a code. We cannot even remove a code from a claim without asking even though there's no documentation/treatment/assessment of any kind on the note. I was just working on a claim where the patient was here for her annual physical. It clearly says in her note that she has a personal history of cervical cancer but the code was not added nor put in the patients problem list. As a coder, I thought we were able to add those codes? Isn't that the reason we got certified? Please correct me if I'm wrong. I feel as if our providers doesn't trust us to choose the correct codes.
I REMOVE/CHANGE CODES ALL THE TIME. THE DOCUMENTION SUPPORTS IT. WE WOULD NEVER GET ANY CLAIMS OUT SINCE PROVIDERS DID NOT RESPOND WELL.