Wiki Help! Pre employment Exam was most billing questions???

Best answers
So I'm an entry level CPC-A holder. Self-taught, no schooling. Couldn't afford it, but good news is I got an 83% my first try, but I have zero experience. I understand that it's going to be difficult to find a job at first, so I'm fully prepared for that. And I don't have the time to be able to just volunteer anywhere to get my foot in the door. I've already spent so much money to get started in this field. I LOVE medical coding. It truly fascinates me as it is a "puzzle within a puzzle" type of job to me. HOWEVER, the pre employment exam I just took was mostly HIPAA and billing questions, which I wasn't fully prepared for unfortunately. I understood the questions but I had forgotten a lot of the information. Like if my brain was a filing cabinet, the file was lost. In there, but lost lol. I was expecting coding questions...why was it just billing? It had stuff like "why was this claim denied?" and it showed a picture of a claim, with everything looking good to me, so I simply had to guess, putting the insurance was the reason because I honestly couldn't tell ya! I am the BOMB at coding but billing doesn't interest me so much so maybe that's why I have a harder time with it. Either way, it showed me that I have a LOT to learn and relearn about the billing process! Help!

There could be many reasons why the pre-employment exam was mostly HIPAA and billing questions. Possible reasons: 1) The position could be mostly billing. 2) They use the same exam for billing positions and coding positions. 3) The people administering the pre-employment exam are HR people who do not even understand billing and coding are 2 distinct jobs with different knowledge requirements.
While it's not impossible, many organizations do not hire CPC-A. They want employees with real world experience. There are no multiple choice options if you are handed an op note and need to assign codes.