Wiki HELP WITH PR For Visit

kjfisher

Best answers
I am a Medical Coder For a Rural Access Hospital and we are having a tremendous problem with getting claims paid with what is called a qualifier of PR (Patient Reason) for visit. Blue Cross of Idaho is stating it is separate from Primary Dx Code. I am coding a Primary Dx Code with a E Code and a V Code. Any Help Much Appreciated. Kim J Fisher

I am a Medical Coder For a Rural Access Hospital and we are having a tremendous problem with getting claims paid with what is called a qualifier of PR (Patient Reason) for visit. Blue Cross of Idaho is stating it is separate from Primary Dx Code. I am coding a Primary Dx Code with a E Code and a V Code. Any Help Much Appreciated. Kim J Fisher

From what I could find online, a PR qualifier is used in hospital billing and cannot be a V code or an E code. It is the primary reason for the patient's visit to the hospital, it can be for outpatient visit. It is just the primary dx code, but you cannot use the V or E codes as primary.

National Standard Mapping:

Electronic - 837I
X12 Loop
Ref. Des.
Data Element
Code
Description
Version 4050R 2300 HI02-1 1270 PR Patient Reason For Visit Qualifier
1271 Patient Reason For Visit Code

Paper Form Locator Code Qualifier
Institutional - UB-04 70a-c N/A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Definition:

The diagnosis describing the patient's stated reason for seeking care (or as stated by the patient's representative). This may be a condition representing patient distress, an injury, a poisoning, or a reason or condition (not an illness or injury) such as follow-up or pregnancy in labor. Report only one diagnosis code describing the patient's primary reason for seeking care.

Codes and Values: