Wiki Interstim..I don't understand it!

alp.jeffrey

Contributor
Best answers
I know Interstim has been addressed so many times within this forum but my little brain just can't grasp the concept. I'm very new to billing these and obviously I'm not doing it right due to claims not getting paid.

For instance, I have one that is billed:
Insurance is denying 95972 and 76000 as being bundled to 64561 and 64590.
OP note says "full implant" so from the info I've looked it, the 64561 and 64590 are correct. But why is the 95972 being bundled. I did see where imaging is included in the 64561 so should I drop 76000?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And then just making sure...I have one that says "stage 1" which from what I've read isn't really a thing anymore. So it's placement of leads (64561), programming (95972), fluoroscopy (76000). But then he has listed "No battery." I'm so confused. So would this mean that the neurostimulator implant was not put in but just the leads and I'd just bill the 64561??

"The lead was brought into this pocket. Next a trocar was used to advanced through the pocket more cephalad and medial still in the right portion of the body in a subcutaneous fashion. The trocar was more broad and an incision was made over the cephalad portion until the trocar could be advanced through the skin. The edge of the trocar was exchanged for a pocket where a external lead plastic compartment could be fitted which was done so and then brought back into the pocket on the right hemibuttock. The trocar was removed and the lead was cleaned off of any blood and advanced into the plastic lead holder and collected in with 1 click on with the small screwdriver."

Sorry that this is so lengthy. I just really want to get this right.