Wiki Iv hydration

hbarney1

Networker
Best answers
Hi I work in a hospital and I am working on auditing IV hydration therapy coding. I haven't worked on this area in a long time and trying to understand it, but seems like I am not getting it (or overthinking it). I have an example of one which this example is really confusing me.

1. Dilaudid: IV 18:41-21:11
2. Zofran: IV 17:50-21:11
3. Sodium Chloride IV: 17:50-21:11 (201 min)

1. 96375
2. 96374
3. 96361X3

I have read a lot of notes (from AHIMA) and other web pages but it seems like I am unable to get this through my brain. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.: :confused:

96360-96361 says Minimal infusion to keep the vein open or during other therapeutic infusions is excluded. The only time you can bill for the saline as hydration is when it is the only service provided at that time.

Since your Sodium Chloride is run at the same times as your other drugs then it is "during therapeutic infusions". Also, your Dilaudid and Zofran appear to be administered via IV infusions not IV pushes. An IV push is when the drug is manually "pushed" by the provider.

Billing would look like this based on what you have below.

Zofran:
96365 x 1
96366 x 2

Dilaudid:
96368 x 1

Hope this helps.

Last edited:
Iv hydration drug code

Hi,

I would like to know if anyone can help me. My scenario is when meperidine is administered with sodium chloride (hydration 1000 ml) for one hour together for same time. We will code 96365 and J2175 for meperidine, but unsure if I can add J7030 for hydration code with this.

J2175
J7030

No you can not bill for the J7030. Fluids are only payable (we follow Medicare guidelines on all claims) if that was the only thing given for the purpose of a medically necessary infusion. When given at the same time as another drug they are considered incident to the j2175.

Hope this helps.

Thanks.

I totally agree with Julie's coding.