Wiki Job Opportunities without Certification

Best answers
Hello everyone! I am a current student; I have finished the coding curriculum, and have just started the billing course. Do companies ever hire prior to us obtaining our certification? While I am still preparing and studying for both the CPC and CPB certification exams, I wondered if there would be an opportunity to find employment in the field as part-time or entry level. Thanks in advance!

There are extremely few employers willing to hire a coder before certification. You will even hear the problem of certified coders without experience struggling to find coding positions. Can you find employment in the medical field before certification? ABSOLUTELY, but typically not as a coder. Take anything you can find in a medical practice or health system. Insurance verification. Appointment scheduler. Registration office. Front desk. These are all related positions where that knowledge can help you become a more well rounded coder as well as your coding knowledge help you perform those responsibilities.
Regarding CPB (at least in my area) I've never spoken to anyone making hiring decisions who cared at all about CPB certification. Typically biller requirement is either some type of prior work in a medical office or having gone through a local business school program. I must have hired and/or worked with 100 billers in my career and none were certified (including myself).
The work of a biller and the work of a coder are often intertwined and related, but the necessary skills can be different. In smaller practices (which are not as common anymore), one person often does both or part of both of those responsibilities. In larger healthcare organizations, everything is more compartmentalized and typically hire for one or the other.