Wiki Left lateral thoracotomy with anterior

lindafay1123

Networker
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
Can someone help me code this I am new to this kind of coding and just want to get an understanding of how to code for these procedures

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: T11-T12 compression fracture.

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: T11-T12 compression fracture.

PROCEDURE PERFORMED: Left lateral thoracotomy with anterior exposure of T11 and T12, with T11-12 corpectomy with cage placement and a left eleventh partial rib resection.

DISPOSITION: The patient remained intubated in stable condition for posterior portion of the procedure. The left 28-French chest tube was to low continuous suction.

HISTORY: A 73-year-old female who has been seen by Dr. for ongoing worsening back pain due to a T11-12 compression, likely due to infection. The patient is now brought to the operating room for T12-T11 corpectomy to alleviate the compression on the spinal cord. The patient was worked up by Dr.preoperatively. The patient was also seen by me preoperatively to describe the approach through the left chest wall. Risks and benefits, alternatives were discussed to her. She agreed to proceed.

REPORT OF OPERATION: After consent was obtained, the patient was brought back to the operating room. An epidural catheter was placed. The patient was then endotracheally intubated with a double-lumen ET tube and then placed in a left lateral decubitus position, secured with a beanbag. There was an axillary roll placed and the extremities were padded and secured appropriately. The C-arm was brought in and the left chest was marked. The area of the compression was noted. The