Wiki Lesion type and removal

JS81coder

Contributor
Best answers
Being a new coder I could use help determining:

Where in the chart it says what type of lesion this is or how it was removed? Would you use modifier RT? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :eek:

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Lesions of the scalp

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Same

OPERATION:
Excision of the right posterolateral lesion 6 mm, left hairline lesion 7mm, and anterior midline lesion 6 mm with intermediate defect closure 9mm, 11mm, and 9mm.

DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE:
The patient was brought to the procedure room. Using loupe magnification, lesions were all examined with the patient's cooperation and participation. The lesions were then outlined as elliptical excisions and the areas infiltrated with lidocaine-epinephrine solution. The lesions were then excised to the level of subcutaneous tissue. The wounds were then closed by slight undermining the wound edges with re-approximation with 4-0 PDS deep dermal subcutaneous closure and 5-0 Prolene suture.

Your Docs aren't telling you what type of lesions are being removed, other than the site. This makes a BIG difference. I see he/she has listed the sizes of the lesions (there are 3 based on the report) as well as the size of the repairs/defects. Benign excisions are 114XX range and Malignant ones are 116XX range.

I would recommend you wait until you receive the Pathology report back as that should tell you what was found and will prevent you from filing one way and then having to correct it with the insurance carrier.

EX: If your Dr. says benign lesion removed, and then the path report comes back stating malignant (SCC, BCC, Melanoma) you have then filed the incorrect code, affecting payment.

And vice versa if the Dr. states malignant and the path report comes back stating something like dysplastic nevus, then you've filed malignant in error when that is really considered benign. (And the carriers will be wanting their money back, lol!)