Wiki lumbar radiculopathies

Best answers
QUESTION: L4-5 lumbar radiculopathy, due to disc bulge....my answer is 722.73, but my friend says 724.4 and 722.10. Please advise, anyone.

Thanx in advance:)

Radiculopathy 2@ to disc bulge

724.4 is a possibility but 722.10 is not. A bulge is not the same as a herniation and "displacement" refers to a herniation. I would go 722.73first and then 724.4 since this is an unspecific code.
Rena

Rena, a disc bulge and a disc displacement are not the same? I was under that impression. My CPT book has a statement underneath code 722.10 that includes "neuritis or radiculitis due to displacement or rupture of lumbar intervertebral disc.

I am still learning the finer points of pathoanatomy. What exactly is a disc bulge then?

Thank you so much for helping to teach me.
Mary Baierl, CPC, CCA, CMT

Last edited:
I found the below information when I was researching hernia vs bulging disc. Also if you view the "coding clinic, fourth quarter 2002 page 107 - 108" is has that bulging disc of lumbar intervertebral disc coded with DX 722.10 when you view the ICD-9 book and look at code 722.10 it is coded as displacement this code does not specifically state it can only be used for a herniated disc just any "dispacement" of intervertebral disc and both hernia and bulge are displacements. I would have coded your example with just 722.10 - per reference under this code in ICD-9 radiculapaty is included in this code. I hope this information is helpful.