Wiki Missing diagnosis on Op note.

kseves

New
Best answers
I have operative notes that do not include any diagnosis (pre or post Op).

Being "old School" I suggested an addendum to the provider to update his note prior to billing. I was told that according to the AMA you can take the diagnosis from the H&P. That just doesn't ring true. I might be able to see it for an ASC charge as the facility is getting the H&P as part of chart paperwork but even that is a stretch for me.

I started coding before EMRs, and live by the rules of, not documented not done and stand alone documents, but to make sure I am looking for credible references to

prove that a operative note must have a diagnosis listed. I would love to see anything that the AMA has on this topic, but I have not been able to get into the website.

Can anyone help me?

I have JCAHO Standard IM.6.30 so far.

Thank You

Being "old School" I suggested an addendum to the provider to update his note prior to billing. I was told that according to the AMA you can take the diagnosis from the H&P. That just doesn't ring true. I might be able to see it for an ASC charge as the facility is getting the H&P as part of chart paperwork but even that is a stretch for me.

I started coding before EMRs, and live by the rules of, not documented not done and stand alone documents, but to make sure I am looking for credible references to

prove that a operative note must have a diagnosis listed. I would love to see anything that the AMA has on this topic, but I have not been able to get into the website.

Can anyone help me?

Thank You

Hello kseves,

I 100% agree with you! Operative reports should have documented the pre and post op diagnosis; the diagnosis shows the medical necessity of performing the procedure. Unfortunately, I can't find any information from the AMA stating that it is okay to not have the DX listed on the op report.

Wish I could have been more of help ~