Wiki Multiple Ventral Hernias

Best answers
I'm a fairly new coder and my surgeon did a Laparoscopic ventral hernia repair with multiple hernia defects on a patient and I'm unsure how to code it. He used a 30x20 cm mesh to cover the entire anterior abdominal wall with having at least 4 separate large defects. I would appreciate any help with this. Thanks!

Please post the note

It sounds as though there were multiple defects, but only ONE repair?
I think we need to see the scrubbed op note to give you accurate guidance.

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CEMC

A cutdown was made in the left upper quadrant. Dissection was carried down to the fascia. The rectus muscles were divided. The posterior sheath was incised and a 5mm trocar was introduced. Pneumoperitoneum was established. Additional trocars were placed under direct vision. Adhesions were then extensively taken down exposing multiple anterior abdominal wall defects. It was elected to proceed with large dual sided mesh that had stay sutures placed in each corner. The mesh was rolled up and introduced into the abdominal cavity. Short, small incisions were made laterally and using a suture passer, the stay sutures were brought up into the anterior abdominal wall and tied, securing the mesh up to the anterior abdominal wall in all 4 quadrants. With that secured, the mesh was then tacked around the periphery of all the defects securing it in multiple places. This was done around the entire circumference of this large mesh. At this inferior aspect of the mesh, there was still a small area that appeared to be close to the edge. An additional piece of mesh was introduced and again secured around the very inferior portion of the mesh. Hemostais appeared to be adequate. the omentum was brought down to cover up the mesh. The distal portion of the omentum was tacked down over the end of the mesh at the inferior aspect of the wounds.