New to AAPC

Cherishma

New
Best answers
Hi!
I am Cherishma and new to AAPC and the medical coding world, to start my career. Gave my CPC exam on 06/04 and waiting for my results. The wait seems like a decade! Is anyone out here interested in sharing your journey as a beginner.

Hello. My name is Fran. I am enrolled in an online CPC Class. We are prepping for the CPC Exam now with practice sessions. I see an exam scheduled for October with three seats available. It is $399 for one attempt and $499 for two + any practice exams...

Hi Cherishma,
I graduated from a junior college with an Associate Degree in Health Information Technology in December 2019. I completed the coding certificate through the same junior college May 2018. I took and passed the CCS exam through AHIMA July 2018 and the CPC certification March 2019. I started out working in an inpatient mental health hospital while I was in school. It gave me a great chance to apply some of what I was learning in school directly to my job. I did not stay there long as I felt that I was limiting myself and my ability to gain experience being only mental health, no procedures, not even an EHR. I left that company in 2017 to work for a big health organization to gain experience working with an EHR. I was not in a coding role, was in medical records. In 2020, I took a position as a coder for a rural tribal health clinic. I worked there for a year until we had to move to a new area that did not have coding opportunities due to my husband's job. I worked in billing for the past two years until just this past month. I went out on a limb and applied for a coding job with the Department of Defense at an Army hospital. I honestly did not think they would even give me a chance. I had allowed my certifications to lapse due to not being able to earn enough CEU's and not being able to afford both memberships and renewals after our move. I am happy to say that I was offered the position!! I did have to move to another state for