Wiki Payer Guidlines

Best answers
How do we find out which payers prefer specific CPT codes billed? I'm a new coder, and I've been reading a lot about how different insurance companies want different things, whether it's cpt codes, modifiers etc. For example, We do Family Practice and OB at my clinic, and I was reading on another forum that certain payers want Rhogam charges to be submitted with J2790 and others want the 90384 CPT code. How do we know what the payers want? I've tried looking around on a couple of the insurance websites, but I can't find specific guidelines. Do I need to request them from each insurance company? :confused:

Brittany, it does get a bit frustrating with the insurance companies calling their own shots. Of course, they typically do not make their specific requirements available to providers. But congrats to you for recognizing this and reaching out to others for guidance!

Some ideas to get the necessary info is to request it directly via phone call, written letter or email your rep if your fortunate to have one.

I always recommend looking at the denied claims then call the claims department for that insurance company (take very detailed notes), keep asking questions until you understand why the claim was denied, correct the claim and share with coworkers the specific guidelines for that insurance company.

Unfortunately, in my experience, these things are learned by trial and error. Maybe the insurances are hoping the physicians office staff will not follow up by correcting claims and appealing these claims.

Be tenacious, hold the insurance companies responsible to pay the claim.

Last edited:
Another source is the supplier of the medical products. When Synvisc first came out, they were very helpful in advising on what codes to bill to what carriers and what diagnosis codes were considered medical necessary. The vendors want to help you get paid for using their products.

I'm interested to know as well.