Wiki Physician orders or protocol required?

audioles

Best answers
Same story as many...I'm new to oncology. I'm in an outpatient setting.

1. Does the administration of two drugs to be be infused concurrently (96368) require physician orders documented in the chart? Or, if it can be based off a protocol, should a copy of the protocol be found in the patient's chart?

2. Same questions for the "mainline" of Normal Saline or D5W (or any other soln used as a "mainline" I suppose) to TKO while the drugs are infusing.

I am looking at chart documentation and it looks like the nurses just know what to do. There are no physician orders or protocols to be found. ???

The number one rule of coding and billing is make sure your charges match documentation. If there's no signed order from the physician in the chart for that specific day of that specific treatment, the treatment shouldn't happen. Before charging anything out, require the docs to provide orders and protocols.
All administration of drugs should follow what's been ordered by the physician, so drugs being infused concurrently should only be done so if that's how the doc ordered them. The mainline of normal saline should be written into the protocol/order as well. You can't charge for the time the saline is running while other drug is being given, however if there's hydration being given before or after the drug admin, and the saline that's being given alone has been ordered to be given as hydration, you can charge for your hydration time.
Whatever you do, require documentation for everything!