Wiki Please help with correct codes!

jdibble

True Blue
Best answers
I have posted this on another forum with no response - probably should have posted it here. Please help - our surgeon performed two operations for what she called Revision of reconstructed breast - one looks like all she did was debride the tissue which I have as 11042-78 (can the closure be billed separately?), the other looks more like a revision, CPT code 19380-RT-78. Can someone review both of the OP notes below and advise me if these codes would be correct or if there is another code I should be using? I know this surgeon will insist that the they were both revisions and I need some assistance, as I am completely new at doing this type of coding.

1. 11042-78

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Left-sided breast cancer status post mastectomy and tissue expander reconstruction, with nonviable mastectomy skin.

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Left-sided breast cancer, status post mastectomy and tissue expander reconstruction with nonviable mastectomy skin.

PROCEDURE PERFORMED: Revision of reconstructed left breast.

SPECIMENS: One specimen to pathology (skin) and one specimen to microbiology, deep wound swabs.

ANESTHESIA: MAC using an LMA.

OPERATIVE FINDINGS: The nonviable skin was debrided. There was no purulence identified. There was no turbid fluid identified. The existing drain was left in place. The AlloDerm was intact at the base of the wound and was incorporating in some areas.