Wiki Pre-employment coding exam

KArkfeld

Best answers
I am in the process of doing interviews for a coding position. Do any of you have your applicants take a brief coding exam? I am from the midwest and we have a severe shortage of qualified coders. I would really like to test anyone who applies so I know thier current abilities or lack there of. Any help would be appreciated!!

Northeast

I have always created tests in-line with the work I would expect the coder to do after hire. It's an invaluable tool to measure not just level of coding expertise, but the time it takes to do it.

I kept the test to 10 or 15 questions max and mixed both ICD-9 and CPT coding, focusing 2 or 3 questions on trickier coding such as those that involve multiple modifiers (for surgery) and for diagnosis coding, combination coding such as for diabetes which also tests 5th digit code assignment.

Good luck!

I absolutely agree! I was a consultant for a billing service and they hired coders with no way to know what their knowledge base was. I did some audits and told the owner she really needed to institute a pre-employment test as a tool to determine amount of pay and so forth. I then administered a test to those already employed focused on the area of coding the business was focused on, and the results were dismal, the highest score schieved was 30%. There were 12 questions and it took most of them 8 to 12 hours to answer them all. The biggest complaint was that it was not a multiple choice test.!