Wiki Surveillance Colonoscopies

Best answers
Just wanted to get clarification on the new Tip added to Z12.11 Encounter for screening for malignant neoplasm of colon. It states, "Surveillance colonoscopies area a type of screening exam used to screen for malignancies in those patients with history or polyps and/or cancer (previously removed)." Is it now correct to bill Z12.11 + Z86.010 and/or Z85.038? I know prior to this we could not bill them together. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated. :)

Last edited:
I think it’s based on payer specific. I code GI and don’t use the Z12.11 as primary. If it’s for Z86.010 I just use that code as primary. I haven’t had any issues.

I had a colleague tell me that the local BCBS office told her to code Z12.11 AND Z08 if it's a patient with a history of cancer or Z09 if it's a history of polyps and to append modifier 33. Are you using modifier 33 on the surveillance colonoscopies?

I am a coder and Practice Manager but the coders in our office all code Z12.11 and then the findings on our surveillance scopes and we receive a lot of denials on our surveillance scopes due to being performed too soon for screening, so I am trying to find out if there is a better way to code the follow-ups when they need to be done before the 5 or 10 year mark.

If the patient needs to come in before the 5 or 10 year mark why would you be using the screening or surveillance codes? Wouldn’t this be for a problem then? If not and you know it’s too soon why are you scheduling the visit for their screening colonoscopy?

We code both