Wiki 99211 - when Pt. walks out of the office without seeing the Doctor

AKAJBART

Networker
Best answers
If a patient comes in to be seen by the Doctor, but the MA takes the patient back to the room, takes their vitals, records their ROS and CC and then the patient decides to leave on their own because they're tired of waiting.......
Can the office charge a 99211? No MDM, Exam, HPI was done, and the Doctor did not see the patient.

Should this code physically go out to the Insurance carrier to pay, or can the office charge a payment to the Patient directly? Or should nothing be charged at all? :confused::confused::confused:

I'm new to this office, and the office I worked for in the past never did this. So I just need to justify if it's correct, or not.

http://www.aafp.org/fpm/2004/0600/p32.html
Basic guidelines
The following guidelines can help you decide whether a service qualifies for 99211:

The patient must be established. According to CPT, an established patient is one who has received professional services from the physician or another physician of the same specialty in the same group practice within the past three years. Code 99211 cannot be reported for services provided to patients who are new to the physician.
The provider-patient encounter must be face-to-face. For this reason, telephone calls with patients do not meet the requirements for reporting 99211.
An E/M service must be provided. Generally, this means that the patient’s history is reviewed, a limited physical assessment is performed or some degree of decision making occurs. If a clinical need cannot be substantiated, 99211 should not be reported. For example, 99211 would not be appropriate when a patient comes into the office just to pick up a routine prescription.