Wiki A coder's job duties and workflow

aimes

Contributor
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
I have been a coder for many years. It has always been set up in all the places I have worked and up until 5 months ago, that charges are reviewed for accurate coding PRIOR to sending the claim out the door. Our coding team, and all the coders I currently know have been trained to take words in the documentation and translate that into CPT, ICD-10, and HCPCS. To us, this is how coding works.
Recently, our coding department has went through a change initiated by Senior Leadership/CFO to change our work flow from reviewing charges prior to release to the following:
1. All providers will choose E&M level that they feel is accurate to the visit.
2. All providers will choose their own ICD 10 codes.
3. Coders are to only review the accurate provider names on the notes,(because the names are never correct); make sure a mod 25 can be applied (if a provider adds one onto the charge, we are NOT to remove it)
4. Coders will correct all the E&M/Dx related code denials after charges have been sent and denials are received OR if it is caught on the back end scrubber.
5. Coders will do a monthly "audit" of 5-10 charts that is done twice a year. All things found will be shared with the provider that was audited.

We have been told that the providers feel it is not a coder's job to "assign" a patient a diagnosis, while we have tried to explain that our role as coder's is to simply match the documentation that is provided to us, we are not changing the actual diagnosis that a provider has given to the patient, only matching what is in the documentation. (We never touch the documentation,we know better, this is simply regarding the ICD10 codes).
We have run into a whole host of issues with this new initiative/job duties.