Wiki about chapter meetings..

kempistyj

Best answers
I was considering attending a local chapter meeting being held, next week. This would be my first .... I graduated with my associates in billing and coding in May...... I just would like to know if I am supposed to bring anything? what is a meeting like...? can anyone tell me about this, thank you

Local Chapter meetings are a great way to meet and network with coders and coding managers. All meetings follow the AAPC's guidlelines, but each chapter can be independent with regard to time, place, cost/food served, etc.
If you go into your account here on the AAPC board, under My Chapter, you can see the contact information for your local chapter. I suggest you contact one of the officers and ask about the meetings. At our meetings, members are asked to pay $10.00 per meeting to cover the food expenses. Some chapters are able to offer meetings at no charge, and others involve members by holding potlucks. We're able to charge only for the food/room expenses, but not to collect additional dues for the treasury. You also have the option of attending chapter meetings for chapters outside your affiliated group. For example, although I am a member of the Seacoast-Dover, NH AAPC, I also can attend chapter meetings in nearby NH cities: Manchester, Derry, Salem, and Portland ME, or any of the Boston-area chapters. It's a great way to meet new people and to get CEUs for a variety of topics.

Like anything else, you will get out of it what you put into it! So I encourage you to become involved in your chapter and volunteer your time and talent into making your chapter successful. Good luck! Pam

Local Chapter Meetings