Wiki Any modifier i can use after exhausting 76/77???

rosie17e

New
Best answers
Good evening to all,

I am new to using the AAPC forum and would like to see if anyone can help me out. I am currently working for radiology (physician side) in New York, New York (jurisdiction K) and have been working closely with my boss. She has been noticing that we get denials when we bill out multiple x-rays in a day. There are times where we bill out 3 or 4 chest x-rays(71010) in a day and the patient could probably be seen by different specialties within that day. Knowing that certain carriers will only pay for an X amount of chest x-rays, she wanted to know if after using modifiers 26, 76 or 77, 59, GC, (which is how we usually send them out) can we use another modifier after exhausting 76/77? I only ask because I want to make sure I try all my resources. I have looked for an answer other places online and have been unfortunate. I believe that there is not other modifier other than modifier 99 - which I believe it indicates multiple modifiers, but I have yet to see that modifier used at all. If anyone is able to answer this or know of a resource please respond with the link so I am able to show her.

Thank you,

Roseanne Martinez, CPC, CPMA