Wiki Anyone have AAPC and AHIMA credentials?

jifnif

Expert
Best answers
I have my CPC and while I do not work in a hospital setting I was looking to get my CCS so that I could expand into facility coding. I am a nursing student and want to keep my possibilities wide open. If you have both, how do you keep up w/ CEUs and does anyone recommend having both? I understand the differences, but as forementioned, just trying to branch out. Any of our hospitals around here will not hire w/out CCS and if they do (if you have CPC) you have to sit within 6mths of hire for CCS. Any feed back is greatly appreciated!

I have both and have found it useful to have both perspectives on coding. It helps to understand how coding is used at the facility level even though I continue to work in the professional setting. Prospective and my current employers have been particularly impressed that I hold both credentials. I had initially intended to branch out into facility coding, but have found better opportunities in professional coding in my career right now.
As far as CEUs are concerned, I just make sure that I do hours that are approved both by AAPC and AHIMA for hours. You can find these courses online. It is a bit more of a logistical headache, but I have found it to be worth it.

I have heard that the CPC-H is an equivalent certification to the CCS. Is this the case? Would I have the same opportunities as a CCS with the CPC-H credential? I have my CPC currently and want to know if I need to pursue the AHIMA membership as well, or if I can stick with the certifications available from the AAPC.
Thanks
Jen Lawson, CPC

Cpc-h?

I have heard that the CPC-H is an equivalent certification to the CCS. Is this the case? Would I have the same opportunities as a CCS with the CPC-H credential? I have my CPC currently and want to know if I need to pursue the AHIMA membership as well, or if I can stick with the certifications available from the AAPC.
Thanks
Jen Lawson, CPC