Wiki Anyone know a code for "Strong labor pains"? Please help.

CNMI670

Networker
Best answers
Hello, I searched the Index under Pain / Labor / Contractions and I keep finding myself with O62.0/9 however, I really don't feel this is correct.

Any suggestions / recommendations, please.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Hello Marissa

is there a reason as to why this has to be coded? In my personal opinion, this is more as the part of the labor process, unless it is becoming more extensive and requiring further treatment that has become a reportable diagnosis.

Hello Marco,

Well, because this is my first year as a coder and I was told that I need to enter the "admitting" diagnosis before the "primary" diagnosis.

Majority of the Labor and Delivery Department's admitting Dx vary between:

1. Labor pains
2. Strong labor pains
3. Contractions
4. Active labor

But I can't find a code that satisfies the above description. The closest I come across is O62.0/9.

I'm always excited to come across charts that state admitting Dx to be, spontaneous rupture of membranes because there's a code that describes exactly that.

Happily,
Marissa

I am only a student right now, but what AACP teaches is if they are in labor, you do not code labor pains as that is routinely associated with the diagnosis.

"Do not report signs and symptoms with a confirmed diagnosis if the signs or symptom are integral to the diagnosis. For example, if the patient is experiencing ear pain and the diagnosis is otitis media, the ear pain would be integral to the otitis media and is not separately reported. A symptom code is used with a confirmed diagnosis only when the symptom is not associated with that confirmed diagnosis."

https://www.aapc.com/blog/29696-icd-10-cm-coding-tips-signs-and-symptoms/