Wiki APC (Ambulatory Payment Classifications)

WBloom

New
Best answers
Hello all,
I have a colleague who is trying to get a better working knowledge of the Ambulatory Payment Classification System. I was wondering if anybody who holds a COC could share with me to some good resources to better understand APCs and perhaps the formula for calculating APC payments. Anything would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you,
Will CPC-A, CPB

Hello all,
I have a colleague who is trying to get a better working knowledge of the Ambulatory Payment Classification System. I was wondering if anybody who holds a COC could share with me to some good resources to better understand APCs and perhaps the formula for calculating APC payments. Anything would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you,
Will CPC-A, CPB

Although COC isn't one of my credentials, I worked as a hospital contract reimbursement analyst for many years.

The brief high-level overview answer is that APC reimbursement is calculated by multiplying the Conversion Factor x APC relative weights. (Similar to how a DRG payment is Base Rate x the DRG relative weight.)

A claim will be run through an APC grouper to classify the CPT and HCPC codes on the claim into APC categories. The relative weights from the payable APC categories, the conversion factor, and the hospital-specific wage index and outpatient cost to charge ratio will be used to determine the claim payment.

If your colleague wants to understand how the APC grouper logic works, here are some links from the CMS website that will help:.

1. Chapter 4 of the Medicare Claims Processing Manual covers OPPS methodology in full detail: https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Downloads/clm104c04.pdf