Wiki billing for delivery DR didn't attend?

jesicat

New
Best answers
I am at an FQHC Indian Health Facility for general family practice. One of my new providers who will be providing OB care is wanting me to bill for a delivery that she was not present for. I have never done OB coding or billing before but it seems wrong to me. Apparently she is part of a group outside of our facility and one of her patients delivered while a different provider was on call. My provider wants me to bill for the other DR so that we can pay her? I am so confused by this. Can anyone help me?

OB billing

It may sound confusing to be billing for a physician that was being covered by another "on call". There are a lot of factors to be considered. Do they belong to the same group and the patient is of that group? How does the insurance company want it billed? What is their "on call" group coverage structure?