Wiki Botox billing advice needed!

cdcpc

Networker
Best answers
Hello!
I work for a family physician who is interested in doing cosmetic Botox injections. I know to use code J0585 for the Botox, but what code should be used for the administration? 90772? 90471 (since it's technically a toxin)?
Any advice would be appreciated :)

Botox

Are you also going to be billing the chemodenervation codes? If so, the administration of the botox is included in the procedure code.

Becky

cosmetic botox

Hi cdcpc,
I don't believe you should use either. 90471 is strictly for immunizations. 90772 is used for therapeutic, prophylactic, or diagnostic, which are not the cases either. I think you would use 11950 - 11954. These are just introduction codes. If you're only doing it for cosmetic, you wouldn't be doing any chemodenervations, diagnosing, or any kind of therapies. I'm no expert, but I would use them., Hope this helps.
Liza

Are you also going to be billing the chemodenervation codes? If so, the administration of the botox is included in the procedure code.

Becky

Becky,
No--we wouldn't be doing chemodenervation codes. This is a strictly cosmetic procedure.
Thank you!

O.K., maybe I'm missing something here..........
If these are strictly "cosmetic", why are they being coded?

If there is an insurance carrier out there who pays for this, please let me know!

Thanks

Hi cdcpc,
I don't believe you should use either. 90471 is strictly for immunizations. 90772 is used for therapeutic, prophylactic, or diagnostic, which are not the cases either. I think you would use 11950 - 11954. These are just introduction codes. If you're only doing it for cosmetic, you wouldn't be doing any chemodenervations, diagnosing, or any kind of therapies. I'm no expert, but I would use them., Hope this helps.
Liza

Liza,
That makes a lot of sense. I think 11950-11954 would fit the situation better. Thanks for the help :)

O.K., maybe I'm missing something here..........