Wiki Can a certified medical coder find a job with no experience at all??

Best answers
Hey everyone,

My name is Ehab, I just got my certificate on Dec 2019.
I'm currently in UAE looking for a job.
I have no related field experience at all. No medical background. Never have I ever worked in an op or IP environment even as a receptionist.

Can a guy like me find a job as a coder????

So at this point, 37 people have read your post, with 0 answers.

I'll jump in. If I were looking to hire a coder, I would not hire one with zero medical experience whatsoever. I have worked with unpaid interns who are about to come out of medical assisting school, medical billing school, etc., and they are lost without real-world experience. I would suggest that you find a way to get some sort of medical experience, and it doesn't have to be coding.

Good luck.

I second Sharon's sentiment. While it was not my situation, I hear all the time from people who are newly certified (and have some medical office experience) that they have difficulty getting a coding job.
It's certainly not impossible, but it's not very realistic for you to easily obtain a coding job. Most employers have multiple people applying for a position. They hire the person who is going to be the best fit. If you check their boxes in other ways, they may decide you are the best fit. But typically, in any career, it is easier for someone with relevant experience to get a job.

Hello Ehab!