Wiki Changing the codes

daedolos

Expert
Best answers
Has anyone ever had their biller change your diagnosis or surgery codes?

Peace
?_?
I originally coded for a surgery for inflammatory arthritis with radiocarpal and midcarpal and distal radioulnar joint destruction in the right wrist.

I coded 25830-RT

The billing department changed it to 25800-RT, 25240.

I worked in billing prior to becoming a coder. I can't imagine changing a surgical CPT unless a coder or provider had advised me to do so. Now that I'm a coder, my coding is sent to the provider for them to sign off on before it gets billed out. Sometimes the provider changes it from what I coded. Is it possible that the provider requested the change?

Susan

without the operative it is hard to say which is correct, however if the biller did not read the operative note and has no coding knowledge then there should be no allowance for them to change the codes.

without the operative it is hard to say which is correct, however if the biller did not read the operative note and has no coding knowledge then there should be no allowance for them to change the codes.

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Inflammatory arthritis with radiocarpal and mid carpal and distal radioulnar joint destruction, right wrist

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
Inflammatory arthritis with radiocarpal and mid carpal and distal radioulnar joint destruction, right wrist

ANESTHESIA:
General

FINDINGS AND PROCEDURE:
This 79-yar-old-male presented with inflammatory arthritis affecting his right wrist. It's destroyed both the radiocarpal and mid carpal and distal radioulnar joint. Because of ongoing pain, he wished to proceed with surgery...