Wiki circc

nyyankees

True Blue
Best answers
i have my cpc, cpc-h and cpc-p. i've been thinking about a specialty credential and wasn't sure. i went on an interview at a hospital today for inpatient coding (which i have zero experience) and the lady interviewing me told me that they needed interventional radiology coders.

So i ask - how hard is the test? would you recommend coding in the field before taking the test? How strong is the market? I have zero experience in this field but and am willing to learn.

Thanks...:)

i have my cpc, cpc-h and cpc-p. i've been thinking about a specialty credential and wasn't sure. i went on an interview at a hospital today for inpatient coding (which i have zero experience) and the lady interviewing me told me that they needed interventional radiology coders.

So i ask - how hard is the test? would you recommend coding in the field before taking the test? How strong is the market? I have zero experience in this field but and am willing to learn.

I have not taken the new test, but the one I took 3 years ago for what was then CIC, was very difficult. I doubt the new test is easier. I do recommend some actual experience in interventional coding before taking the test, I know it helped me.
As for the market, I don't know how strong it is now, but I do think IR coding will be in increasing demand in the next few years.

I hope this helps.

I took the CIRCC in February, 2009. It was very hard. Many who took it with us did not pass. I suggest if you take it that you attend a Dr. Zielske, Medical Asset Mgmt or Medlearn course right before hand. I attended Dr. Z's session before hand and it helped tremendously since I do not code IR day in and day out. I passed the exam the first time with heavy studying.