Wiki Clinician writing DX Code instead of descriptive text on the anesthesia records

millie362

New
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
Any guidance regarding this issue Clinician writing DX Code instead of descriptive text on the anesthesia records. Would you count this as an error on the audit and educate the clinician to write a descriptive text?

Yes, I would consider it an error. A code is not a diagnosis, it is a classification of a group of related diagnoses. ICD-10 guidelines state that code assignments must be based on a physician's statement of the patient's condition. Without a verbal statement in the record, there is no way to conclusively know what the actual diagnosis is, and also no way to validate whether or not the code that was chosen is correct.

I've been coding anesthesia for over 8 years. Please know that most often anesthesia providers have a difficult time obtaining diagnosis information. I've spoken with a lot of anesthesiologists and CRNAs to gain knowledge about their processes while on a case, so that I could have realistic expectations. Many told me they get what they get. Often times they're only provided with a code.

That said, talk to your providers to see if it's possible for them to get the diagnosis as opposed to the code.

I've been coding anesthesia for over 8 years. Please know that most often anesthesia providers have a difficult time obtaining diagnosis information. I've spoken with a lot of anesthesiologists and CRNAs to gain knowledge about their processes while on a case, so that I could have realistic expectations. Many told me they get what they get. Often times they're only provided with a code.

That said, talk to your providers to see if it's possible for them to get the diagnosis as opposed to the code.