Wiki CMS NCCI Presumptive & Definitive Testing

Best answers
Hi, does anyone know of any NCCI updates or possible modifiers CMS may be implementing for presumptive/definitive testing? Our urine drug testing lab is in a pickle because we perform both for our clients & sometimes on same day (but different times). We typically use 59 or 91 depending on the payer, but I'm presuming CMS may be creating a new modifier?

Last edited:
Hi, I am also trying to get some guidance on this new edit. I bill for a CLIA Lab(81) and these UDTs are our bread and butter. It's my understanding that on Oct. 1 2023 CMS will change the indicator to "1" and that will be retroactive to July 1 2023. Under the right circumstances when both G0480-G0483 and 80305-80307, what would be the appropriate modifier to bypass the edit? We have talked about 91, 59, XE, XU. I am leaning towards 59 and XU but my bosses feel like it could be 91 or XE. I am very new to billing and coding. Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. LOL Thanks!!!!

We are having this issue. We received denials from Aetna and Humana so far. Humana had already been billed with G0480-59 mod attached and they still denied stating based on the CMS guidelines. We cannot find anything about it on CMS or any other coding site. We will be resending the Aetna claims with 59 modifier but the 91 is also a good option. Lets stay in touch to help each other with this craziness. Thanks