Wiki Coding and billing questions

jdibble

True Blue
Best answers
Can someone please help? I am new to anesthesiology coding and am a bit confused. I just took an old webinar from AAPC thinking it would help, but it has confused me more.

First question - which code would you use for a Laparoscopic Appendectomy? Would it be 00840 or 00860? I had picked 00840 but this webinar stated that it should be 00860 - even though the CPT book does not state including laparocsopy like code 00840 does.

Second question - from what I have been trying to figure out, we bill the insurance based on the base units and time. My question is how do you do this? I have printed out a list from CMS on the base units, but I am confused on how that would be applied to the claim form and how would I bill the time - for both commercial and Medicare? Also, the modifiers confuse me - do I use the P modifiers, the AA modifier and of course my Anesthesiologist is a Locum too! And how would I find and apply fees? I have to code these services and then forward them over to someone to post into the billing system, so I need to have the total $ charges listed for her too!

If anyone can explain this to me I would apprecaite it! I feel very clueless and am not getting anywhere trying to find my answers!

Thanks! :eek:

Hi Jodi.

As for your first question, 00840 is the proper code for a lap appy. If an AAPC course told you otherwise, be sure to let them know the error so they can correct it.

As for modifiers and billing, some of this will vary based on payer requirements. It's always a good idea to get to know your payers and how they want you to bill.

Which concurrency modifiers you use will depend on your practice. If you bill for an anesthesiologist and he/she always works alone, you will use AA. If your doc works with CRNAs or you bill for CRNAs, you will need those modifiers as well.

For some payers (including Medicare) you need QS to report MAC when that is the mode of anesthesia.