Wiki Coding for Triage Nurse's

vdelucci

Best answers
I work for DOD. They want us to code 99281-52 to account for Triage Nurse's
work load. Is this correct?

you cannot append a 52 to an E&M sevice. look at CR1776 from 2002. Also the nurses time is part of the facility charge for the ER and should be built into the facility assessment tool for the facility E&M.

DoD has its own set of guidelines and rules that supersede all others. If DoD wants it like that, that is what you do. It is not coding in the "real" world.

Not true. I conducted onsite coding seminars to several military bases teaching correct coding to military coders and physicians. They follow the same coding conventions as everyone else.

Not true. I conducted onsite coding seminars to several military bases teaching correct coding to military coders and physicians. They follow the same coding conventions as everyone else.

I worked as a coder and auditor for multiple military bases for several years. DoD follows the DoD CODING GUIDELINES which supersede all other coding guidelines. However, is there is not a specific guideline stated in DoD, then you do follow the coding conventions of the outside. I can also guarantee you that if you taught them something that went against the DoD guidelines, your teachings were not followed. DoD is in a world of their own.

Their manual on coding was revised in 2009 and states
These guidelines are derived from the following source documents:
International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM);
Current Procedural Terminology (CPT), 4th Edition;
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Documentation Guidelines for Evaluation and Management (E&M) Services;
Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS);
The American Hospital Association (AHA) Coding Clinic;
The American Medical Association (AMA) CPT Assistant;
The Coding Clinic for HCPCS.
These are exactly the same sources for guidelines all other coders use.