Wiki Coding Induced Abortion at 18 weeks withmisoprostol

peabodym

Contributor
Best answers
A patient was admitted into the hospital for induced abortion at 18 weeks due to fetus demised. The patient received 600 mg orally of misoprostol and delivered vaginally in the OR on the same day. The placental was also delivered vaginally. Since the induced abortion was performed medically with oral misoprostol at 18 weeks, how is the delivery coded? Is the delivery of fetus coded with an E/M code or a delivery code?

When the fetus is under 20 wks, we cannot use a delivery code, so you will use E&M only. Also it's easy to get confused using the term "induced abortion" because there are cpt codes for induced abortions but those are for terminations due to health of mother or fetus, etc.

Hmm.. I am a new coder to OBGYN and I had a similar case. I asked ACOG how it should be coded and they replied E/M + 59414 placenta. Do you think the answer is based on the Reason for induced delivery (IOL)? Please let me know if my conclusions (from response above and ACOG) are correct?
----If IOL is for fetal demise (less than 20w) via oral misoprostol, then we code E/M.
----If IOL is for Fetal abnormalities, mother's health (less than 20w) via oral miso, then we code E/M + 59414?
Here is my correspondence with ACOG:
"On Tue, 23 Mar at 12:05 AM , Natasha Lage <natasha.lage@ wrote:

"Hello, could you please help me understand/pick the right CPT for Induced termination of pregnancy at 19 weeks for fetal multiple problems. Pt was given buccal misoprostol prior. Pt delivered stillborn fetus. I know if 20w or more, that will be a Delivery CPT.
My dilemma is that CPT 59855 is for Vaginal suppositories (prostaglandin) but my patient received it orally. Will it qualify for 59855? Sometimes I see notes when MD does not specify the route of Misoprostol/Misopresol; do I need to query the MD?
Thank you very much for your assistance. I am looking forward to hearing from you. :)