Wiki Coding multiple critical care visits

medicode3

Networker
Best answers
Hello, I am new to the neurosurgery and neurology coding and have a question. There is a new physician who I have just started coding for and he is a neuro intensivist. He works in the neuology ICU. My question is......is there a limit on how many days in a row that he can code CCT? He documents very well and is truly with the patient giving critical care. I have told him that when he goes into the 3rd or 4th days of charging for it there needs to be other dx's added to explain why the patient is still critical. Has anyoone ever run across this before?

Thank you!!:)

There are no limits. I do recommend both of you reviewing the qualifications for critical care including medical necessity and "treatment of vital organ failure" and prevention of further life threatening deterioration of the patient’s condition, etc. There are numerous presentations from CMS as well as your MAC.

As far as changing the diagnosis, I do not subscribe to this practice. The diagnoses should match the documentation for each day.

Neuro critical care

I have been coding for neuro intensivists for over 9 years. It is not uncommon to see some of these patients in the ICU for long periods of time with multiple dates of critical care billing. My advice is to make sure the diagnosis is appropriate and that the charting substantiates the providers billing. (Time documentation is key.) One of my neuro intensivists was audited and it was found that everyone of his notes supported his billing even though their were multiple critical care dates billed. I would also recommend spending a little time with the provider and get to know a little more about neuro critical care patients, it becomes easier to know what to look for when you know more about the patient population and this one is definitely unique.

Critical Care Services