Wiki Common interview questions? All CPC-A might find this useful.

Best answers
Hello!

I am a recently certified CPC-A. After months of applying for my first entry level position I finally have an employer interested in me. I passed the phone screening and my in-person interview is scheduled for next week.

I have been told in the past that I interview very well. One of the ways I do that is by doing heavy research into the questions that I might be asked so I have prepared answers in my mind. As I am new to this field any coding specific questions they ask me I might not have well-prepared answers for.

If the readers here can please just post any specific questions they were asked during their employment interviews I would be extremely appreciative. :)

So far here are some questions I am prepared for:

1) What is the meaning of RoS? And what are it's elements?

2) What is the meaning of HPI? What are it's elements?

3) Tell us three work qualities that would be important for a medical coder?

Those are great questions, and thank you for sharing. As a hiring manager, I have an entire list of questions that I ask. When hiring brand new coders, the education/experience that all applicants have is pretty much indicitive of a level playing field...what I'm looking for is the person who is going to be a good fit.

Here are some of the questions I ask (and why I ask them).

1. What is your two-year plan? Your 5-year plan? Basically, I want to know if you have set goals and if you know enough about the industry to be interested in something other than "I want to be a coder".