Wiki "Consistent With" Dx

MI_CODER

Guru
Best answers
Hello, what would you code for the diagnosis? The op report uses phrases such as "consistent with" and "likely" while the path report uses the phrase "suggestive of". I'm an outpatient coder so I'm thinking the only diagnosis I can use is R22.31. However, I thought I heard we could use a suggestive of diagnosis if it's in the path report. I'm not sure where I heard that or if that's correct? Any help is appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Post-operative Diagnosis: Mass of right wrist [R22.31]

Specimens: likely inclusion cyst

A small oblique incision was made over the mass which was in line with the previous scar blunt dissection revealed the mass which was deep in the subcutaneous tissue we dissected free any branches of the superficial radial nerve from it. It excising the mass from the surrounding scar it did burst expressing material that appeared to be consistent with an inclusion cyst. We resected the mass we thoroughly irrigated the wound looking for any remnants we will send it to pathology as she has a history of squamous in the area but it did not appear consistent with a mass that would be consistent with squamous cell carcinoma. The wound is irrigated again and closed with a 4-0 nylon.

PATHOLOGICAL DIAGNOSIS:
A. Mass right wrist, excision: Foreign body giant cell reaction with associated keratin debris,
suggestive of ruptured epidermal inclusion cyst.

Last edited:
From the ICD-10 guidelines a couple years ago: